Monmouthshire Junior Association Football League – Rest of the League Team Photograph

Monmouthshire Junior Association Football League.
The rest of the league versus the champions, about 1907- 1908. A small write-up, players’ names, teams and the league standings are (seen left).

The photograph shows the rest of the league team that played the champions of the league in about 1908. The team were as follows. Back Row – Mr J. Gilchrist; Mr D. Davies; Mr T. Kendall; T. Watkins; Mr G. E. Price (Abertillery) Capt; Mr D. Cahill (Ebbw Vale); Mr A. Taylor (Abertillery); Mr A. E. Evans; Mr C. Jones; Mr E. Kendall; Mr F. E. Powell (League Secretary) and Mr D. Griffiths: Middle Row – H. Pike (Ynysddu); Mr J. W. Bryant (Ynysddu); Mr J. Waites (Abertillery); Mr J. E. Roberts (Blaina) and Mr O Watkins (Blaina): Front Row – Mr A. Davies (Llanfoist); Mr J. Carden (Ynysddu) and Mr E. Jones (Victoria): Photograph taken by Mr G. G. Powell of Tredegar.

The teams that played in the Monmouthshire League were as follows – Cwm, Ynysddu, Llanfoist, Abertillery, Blaina, Ebbw Vale United, Victoria, Dukestown, Ebbw Vale YMCA and Deighton.

Abertillery Players.
Some of the names associated with the league and league players for Abertillery at this time included – W. Andrews (Secretary); J. Jones (Trainer); J. Simmons (Goalkeeper); A. E. Price; A. Taylor; A. Burgess; Arthur Flook; Massey; Woods; E. Parker; H. Morgan; C. Dando; H. Gittins; E. Flook; B. Shearn and W. Hall: Also named were H. Merchant; H. Collins; R. Hayes; C. Mapp and F. Withers:

error: Content is protected !!